APC Wins In 13 states, PDP Victorious In Four


APC wins in 13 states, PDP victorious in four

Winners of Saturday’s governorship election began to emerge on Sunday afternoon with the All Progressives Congress topping the Peoples Democratic Party in the results so far released by the Independent National Electoral Commission.

The first to be officially announced victorious was Ogun State Governor Ibikunle Amosun, who defeated PDP’s Ganiyu Isiaka. Amosun of the APC is therefore set for a second term in office.The Gboyega Nasir Isiaka Campaign Organisation rejected the result of the governorship poll, saying it was “unfortunate and a travesty staged to help the APC achieve victory.”

It claimed that the outcome of the election   was clearly not a true reflection of Ogun people’s wish and said that the result would be challenged as appropriate.

In the neigbouring Oyo State, Abiola Ajimobi, also of the APC became the first governor of the state to clinch a second term in office. He defeated former governors, Rashidi Ladoja of the Accord Party and Adebayo Alao-Akala of Labour Party in the race.  While the governor polled 327,310 votes; Ladoja had 254,520 and Alao-Akala ,   184,111.

APC’s candidate in Lagos, Akinwunmi Ambode, polled 811,994 votes to defeat PDP’s   Jimi Agbaje,who scored 659,788 votes.Agbaje accepted defeat and congratulated Ambode but the state PDP rejected the result, citing   ‘controversial’ circumstances within which the elections were conducted in the state as reasons.