Pres. Jonathan Signs Six New Bills


President Jonathan today signed six different bills passed by the National Assembly into laws. Prominent among the bills that were signed was the Tobacco Control Bill 2015. According to his Special Adviser on Media and Publicity, Dr. Reuben Abati, other bills signed into law include the Nigerian Electricity Management Services Agency Act 2015; Equipment and Leasing Bill 2015; AMCON (Amendment) Bill 2015; Standards Organisation of Nigeria Bill 2015 and the National Sugar Development (Amendment) Bill 2015.

The Tobacco Control Act 2015 repeals the Tobacco Smoking (Control) Act, CAP.T6, LFN 2004 enacted in 1990 and amended years later. The bill will ensure effective regulation and control of production, manufacture, sale, labeling, advertising, promotion and sponsorship of tobacco and tobacco products in Nigeria.