Bukola Saraki Elected Senate President


Bukola Saraki, a former governor of Kwara State, has been elected the president of the eighth Senate.  Mr. Saraki of the All Progressives Congress, APC, defeated his party’s preferred candidate, Ahmed Lawan, to emerge the Senate president. He was nominated by Sani Yerima and seconded by Dino Melaye. Mr. Saraki has been sworn into office.

The election for the office of Senate Deputy President is still ongoing. Immediate past deputy, Ike Ekweremadu, is contesting against Ali Ndume from Borno State.


Leave a Reply