Photos: See The Profiles Of The 7 Women Who Made President Buhari’s Ministerial List


President Muhammadu Buhari has submitted the list of ministers who will make his cabinet. Currently ongoing is the ministerial screening in the Senate. Below are the 7 women who made the list….

Amina J. Mohammed, an indigene of Yobe State in Northern Nigeria, is the Secretary-General’s Special Adviser on Post-2015 Development Planning. Ms. Mohammed was previously Senior Special Assistant to the President of Nigeria on the Millennium Development Goals after serving three Presidents over a period of six years. In 2005 she was charged with the coordination of the debt relief funds ($1 billion per annum) towards the achievement of Millennium Development Goals in Nigeria. From 2002-2005, Ms. Mohammed served as coordinator of the Task Force on Gender and Education for the United Nations Millennium Project.

Honourable Khadija Bukar Abba Ibrahim is a 3rd-term member of the House of Representatives. She is the wife of the first civilian Governor of Yobe State, Senator Buka Abba Ibrahim. Her father, the late Alhaji Ibrahim Waziri was the proponent of ‘politics without bitterness’, and former presidential aspirant in the second republic and founder of the Great Nigeria People’s Party (GNPP).

Hajiya Aisha Jummai Al-Hassan is a former Senator who represented the Taraba North constituency of Taraba State. In 2015, she ran for governor on the platform of the All Progressives Congress(APC) and was tipped to be Nigeria’s first female governor. A lawyer by training, Jummai rose high in her career to become Taraba State’s Attorney General and Commissioner of Justice. She was appointed the Chief Registrar of the High Court of the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja on 17 December 2003. After she retired from service she went into business.

She is the immediate past Honourable State Commissioner for Finance in Ogun State. A finance professional with over 23 years experience gained in the United Kingdom and Nigeria. Mrs. Adeosun is an Economics graduate and a member of the Institutes of Chartered Accountants, England and Wales, as well as Nigeria.

Zainab Shamsuna Ahmed is the Executive Secretary of Nigeria Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (NEITI).Until her appointment Mrs. Ahmed was a Member of the National Stakeholders Working Group (NSWG) of NEITI and the former Managing Director, Kaduna Industrial and Finance Company. She holds a degree in Accounting from the Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria and Masters in Business Administration. Mrs. Zainab Ahmed is a member of Association of National Accountants of Nigeria and Fellow, Institute of Certified Company Commercial Accountants of Nigeria among other professional organisations.

— Also on the list are Hajia Hadiza Abdullahi and Ms. Aisha Abubakar

Leave a Reply