Bayelsa Polls: Dickson Ahead, Wins In 4 LGs



Governor Seriake Dickson of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, yesterday, emerged as the front runner in the Bayelsa State Governorship election having scored 81,929 votes.He is closely being pursued by the All Progressives Congress, APC, standard bearer and immediate past governor of the state, Chief Timipre Sylva, who got 56,514 votes.

So far, results from 28 polling units in the five councils were cancelled due to electoral skirmishes, over-voting, malfunctioning card readers and violence.While Dickson won in four of the five councils, Sylva had the upper hand in the battle for Brass, his local council. The councils that Dickson won were Sagbama, Yenagoa, Ekeremor, Kolokuma/Opokuma. Official announcement of the results will continues today at 10 am.

Leave a Reply