Breaking: Fayemi Wins Ekiti APC Governorship Primary Election


Kayode Fayemi, minister of solid minerals, has won the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship primary election in Ekiti.

The former governor of the state secured the most votes in the rescheduled exercise held on Saturday.

Although the counting is still ongoing, TheCable can report that Fayemi has secured 941 votes, which puts him a mile ahead of other aspirants.

Tanko Al-Makura, governor of Nasarawa state and chairman of the committee overseeing the electoral process, had confirmed that 2, 327 delegates were accredited for the exercise which took place at Damlek Event Centre, Ado-Ekiti.

The aspirants who came closest to Fayemi are Kayode Ojo (281), Olufemi Richard Bamisile (179), Oluyede Oluwole (121), and Aluko Daniel Olugbenga (86).

Adekunle Patrick was the only aspirant without a vote while Ajayi Adebowale Oluranti and Elizabeth Taiye had one each. Coker Olumuyiwa and Ayodele Arise secured two votes apiece.

Despite withdrawing from the race, Babafemi Ojudu still managed to get 10 votes.

The election was disrupted last Saturday when some agents alleged that the exercise was fraudulent.

The winner, Fayemi, is from Isan-Ekiti in Oye-Ekiti local government area of the state

Leave a Reply